OS: Pyaar koi khel nahi (Love is not a game)

Hey guys ! Happy sunday. I had this sudden story line in mind and wanted to give it a shot in OS. Please do say how it is.

Arnav and Khushi are married for 20 years. They were very much still in love. Arnav crazily loves Khushi, so does Khushi. But somehow Khushi feels that she has been taken for granted in recent couple of months.

They have 2 children. Arush 19 years old and Kiara 16 years old. Somehow the teenage age of their children has been difficult on Khushi, because Arnav is hell bent on spoiling and pampering them. Whenever they ask for something from Khushi, and if she denies it, they immediately resort to their dad and get permission for the same. They stopped asking from her, instead started asking directly from him.

Arnav doesn’t even discuss with her before saying ‘yes’ to them. Even as simple as fast food for dinner, when she denies, Arnav says yes without even thinking about it. Whereas I think about their health all the time.

For the last year has been extremely taxing on Khushi, as if she is the bad parent and Arnav is the good one. She doesn’t want her children to be a spoilt brat because of the money. But seems like she is failing in it and Arnav seems not to care about it.

Given that Khushi was from rich background, she knew what it is to be spoiled and taking things for granted. She doesn’t want her children to go through the same. She wants them to be disciplined. She feels she needs a break.

Even though Arnav still loves her, he stopped sharing or asking for opinions in the business front. Seems like he found new friends group, where he could discuss anything and gossip about it. Both Arnav and her children sees her as someone who cooks for them and loves them. But am I respected by them?

Somehow in the journey of loving her husband and children, she forgot to love herself. She never knew when was the last time she did something she loved or heck even openly laughed. Heck she haven’t even read a book. She needs to change this. She decided to take the matter in her own hands. She needs to be respected in her house, and valued her. If Arnav has forgot to do that, maybe she should teach him.

She decided everything

At night  

Arnav was in his night suit and working something on the laptop. Khushi was brushing her hair and looked upto him. She suddenly doubted if he still finds her beautiful or not.

Throwing all these thoughts aside, she came near Arnav and sat.

Khushi- Arnav I need to talk.

Arnav- Mmm Bolo Khushi( say Khushi)

Khushi- close that Laptop and look at me.

Arnav- wait wait it is important presentation. Lemme finish it baby.

Khushi- NO stop it Arnav. You listen to me now.

Khushi shouted at shut down the laptop which he was working. Obivously it riled him up.

Arnav- What the fuck Khushi? What has gotten into you? I am telling you this is important.. Can’t you understand a simple thing ?

Arnav shouted at the top of his voice. Khushi got tears in her eyes, seeing him so riled up for this. She suddenly remembered a similar incident in the past, when she used to do the same every now and then, and Arnav used to tickle her for the same. Somehow she cannot feel any kind of warmth today even in anger, which used to be there.

Khushi- I am sorry.

Khushi said with a meek voice and strolled toward the balcony. Somehow the eerie silence and moonlight din’t soothe her soul just like it used to.

After a while, she feels Arnav circling her waist from behind.

Arnav- sorry sweetheart. He whispers and tries to kiss her earlobe.

But Khushi for the first times feels aversive towards his touch.

Arnav- I will never bring office work again okay? Tell me what you wanted to say.

Arnav continued kissing her neck, without realizing she is not welcoming it.

Khushi- Lavanya called. There is a Mount Everest base camp trek happening. 15 days limited. She sent the brochure.

Arnav- Baby I know you like trekking, but I have important international client coming tomorrow for which I was preparing the presentation. Even Kiara has her unit test coming I guess.

Khushi- Arnav I wanted to alone with them. You take care of the meetings and our children. I will ask the maid to prepare the food, you guys just need to tell her what you want to eat.

Arnav was taken aback for a moment. He literally froze for a second before he could respond properly.

Arnav- But Khushi, you have never went alone. What happened suddenly? Did our kids say anything to you? Are you angry with me? Did I say something? Baby what happened?

Arnav cupped her face and tried to see what went wrong.

Khushi- are buddhu! Why would something happen? I just feel like I needed to do this. Also the kids are grown up now. They can pretty much handle everything. Its been so long I went out with my college friends. It would be nice to catch up right?

Arnav- But Khushi how will I manage ?

Khushi- Just like I do when you go out on business trips. Khushi winked at him and hugged him.

Arnav feels so distant with the way Khushi was talking but couldn’t pinpoint why. Khushi start kissing near his neck and slowly rubs his stubble with her fingers. They move towards the bed. This night Khushi loves her husband like she used. She made love to her husband with all her emotions. Not a word passed, but there was lot communicated. She loved her husband till the dawn. While falling asleep, bot Arnav and Khushi had tears in their eyes. Somehow they missed each other.

After a while at the breakfast,

Kiara- Mom, again aloo paratha? I wanted smoothie bowl mom. That’s much healthier you know.

Khushi- Yea yea as if. Just this last day adjust chutki, for the next two weeks I won’t be here to disturb you with aloo paratha.

Both Kiara and Arush stopped eating for a moment. Arnav kept on eating without uttering a word.

Kiara and Arush- MOM! what are you saying?

Khushi answered chirpily- I am going on a Mt. Everest Base camp trek with my college best friends. God I am so excited. I can’t believe it. It was something on my bucket list.

Kiara- bucket list? Mom you? as in You have a bucket list?  Kiara asked unable to believe that her mom do things.

Arush- mom you need to be fit and exercise every day to climb mom. You are so thin. You can’t even do this mom.

Arnav looked at his children reprimanding Khushi and didn’t like the way they were undermining her capability. Is this why Khushi wants to take a break? Her own children doesn’t ask about her wishes instead goes in to reprimand her.

Arnav- ENOUGH ! Whats up with you two using that tone to your mother? Apologize now.

Kiara and Arush were shocked and also scared that their dad raised his voice for the first time. Khushi was also shocked for a moment. It feels like Arnav supported her after a long time.

After their apologies, Arnav said slowly to them

Arnav- Listen Kiara, your mom has big bucket list since forever and you know what, she almost completed everything. And Arush, you talk about fitness. with her everyday yoga and badminton she is as fit as 20 year old. I can’t even stand near her in terms of fitness. So stop saying like that. You need to be more polite when talking to your mom. Understood ?

With a firm nod, they left the place. After they left,

Arnav- do you have to buy anything for the trek Khushi ?

Khushi- yea some good shoes, and trekking gears. Vicky told he will help me buying things today afternoon.

Arnav- I will take you out and help you buy everything.

Khushi- But Arnav, you have meeting with International client today?

Arnav- I have postponed it khushi. Also taken a leave today. You come first to me than anyone. Get ready we will go out.

Khushi- Okayyy.

Khushi was still unable to believe Arnav is talking like this to her. After a while, both of them went out for long drive, ate road side snacks, and while returning he got her the best of best items for trekking. Finally they reached almost at 8’o clock at night.

Khushi- Thanks Arnav.

Arnav looked puzzled at her for a moment, wondering why this thanks ?

Khushi- Just like that. I am very much excited for the trip. Can’t wait.

Arnav just plainly looked at Khushi, feeling an ache in his heart that he let down his Khushi. After spending a whole day with her, he finally understood why she needed this break.

***********************

Khushi left for the trek after giving every minute instructions to the maid, to the gardener and everyone who works shantivan.

She smothered Kiara and Arush with kisses and instructed them to be good children.

She just kissed Arnav on his cheek and told him to take care.

**********************

In the 2 weeks

Khushi had the best time of her life. The sunrise she witness after she climbed up the Kala pathar point, was incredible. She was happy, truly from her heart after a long time. She felt liberated from everything. Somehow she didn’t worry about her husband and children, because she believed they would be doing okay (atleast that’s what she thought so).

Every single person from her college gang had grown into beautiful person. They asked her what she did and valued her opinion just like they used to do in college. Even after 20 years nothing changed. She wished she could stay here longer. But alas, she needs to wake up reality.

Meanwhile at Shantivan

The person most affected was Arnav. Everyday was a nightmare and his children made sure that turned to hell lot more. Everyday they demanded different fast foods. Either they ordered it from outside or ordered the househelp to do it. Both Kiara’s school teacher and Arush’s college princhipal summoned him. They complained him, about his kids and what they were upto.

Kiara’s school teacher complained about her arrogant nature and how she was insulting girls from not so privileged  background. Arush in college, often gets into fight and turned like rogue knowing that his father is the trustee of the college.

Adding to that the business friends group, was trying sabotage his company’s growth over the past few months.

He was shocked beyond limits. Now he realized what a grave mistake he did. It is not about the wrong happenings in life. Its about how he completely neglected Khushi in almost everything. He never listened when she tried to stop him from pampering his children. He said to yes to whatever his children asked when khushi said no. She used to give some valuable input, but his wrong company made him neglect his wife too.

He realized what Khushi must have felt like. He just hoped Khushi doesn’t hate him. Within 2 days she is coming back and he can’t wait already. He grounded his children in their own room without any phone connection as a punishment.

After two days

Khushi came humming a tune and with a skip in her step, showing how happy she was.

Khushi- I AM HOME !!!!!!!!!

She expected her children to come running, but her eyes opened wide as saucer seeing her husband running down the stairs and lifting her of the feet. She knew he would miss her, but not even in her dreams she imagined this kind of welcome.

Arnav kept her down and kissed her like a mad man, without even noticing the staffs were looking at them and giggling.

Khushi- Arnav stop. We are in the living room.

Arnav – I don’t care dammit. I missed you like hell. Its like I am back to life after seeing you.

He said with tears in his eyes and hugged her tightly. Khushi hugged him back equally happy that her plan of making him see things worked out.

Pulling back from the hug, she asked- where is chote and chutki? I expected them to run into my arms.

Arnav signalled the maid to bring them down.

Arnav- I actually grounded them in their room for two days. You know what they ..

Before even he finished, she pulled her hand out from his’ and asked angrily gritting her teeth.

Khushi- What did you say you did?

Arnav- Sweetheart, you don’t know what they did? You know..

Kiara and Arush rushed down seeing their mom. Both of them hugged her and kept kissing her. She too missed them like hell. She quickly prepared some dal chawl and potato fry and actually fed all three of them. Yes she fed Arnav too.

Everyone had tears in their eyes finally after seeing the life of the house. After lunch, both Kiara and Arush wanted to sleep with Khushi in her room. She actually made them sleep on her each side, saying little funny stories from her trip. And she too fell asleep. Arnav saw this sight from the door and joined Arush side. He fell asleep peacefully after two weeks.

*******************

At Night Arnav and Khushi by the pool

Khushi narrated everything from starting to the end without even leaving a tiny bit , with loads of excitement. The spark in her eyes was back, and she kept on blabbering.

Khushi concluded with a chuckle by saying- “You know Arnav, I was happy after so long. I felt I was like myself all over again in those 15 days. My soul is happy. I wished I would have stayed there longer, but alas reality is waiting. And all good things must come to end”

Arnav felt pained at her narration. He realized that they have suffocated her so much that she preferred to stay there away from him.

Arnav narrated all the things happened in school, college and his office matters.

Khushi- But why would you go to extreme by grounding them in rooms? They are children Arnav. They will understand once we explain them. Everything can be solved by making them understand.

Arnav- Really Khushi?

Khushi- ofcourse duh !

Khushi wondered what happened to Arnav.

Arnav- How did this happen Khushi ?

Khushi- Happen what? Kids misbehaving ? Well this is their teenage Arnav. We can’t do anything. We ..

Arnav- I am not talking about them Khushi.

Khushi-Huh..?

Arnav- how did this happen ? that you felt happy and you felt like yourself after so long ? You felt like you wanted to stay there more? Away from me? Did you not miss me? Did Khushi not miss her Arnav?

Khushi was shocked for moment. She looked on as Arnav vulnerably continued in a feeble voice.

Arnav- Everything was chaos Khushi. The moment you said you wanted to go alone, I was scared. Scared that we took you for granted so much that you preferred your friends over us. I was breaking Khushi. I know our kids are spoiled because of me. I pampered them too much. My mistake. I should have talked to you, even if I want to pamper them. Somewhere the wish to pamper them surpassed our marriage vow I guess. That’s sin Khushi. No matter what I should have shared everything with you. Somehow the friendship in us was so lost, because of me, that I sought new friends over you. I am hating myself for it Khushi. Even though I hate that the fact that you travelled two weeks without me, I am thanking gods that this happened. Because it gave me a reality check of what is happening. More aptly, of what I am doing. I am sorry Khushi. For everything. Please. Please never go away from me. It scared the hell out of me. For a moment I thought I lost you. We will work on it please. Talk to me on how you feel. Please vent out everything Khushi. Please baby.

Arnav begged and sobbed hugging Khushi, who was already crying.

Khushi- Shhh stop crying Arnav. You look really bad while crying. Shh. Khushi cupped Arnav’s face and wiped his tears.

Khushi decided to vent out everything in her heart.

Khushi- Yes I felt suffocated and taxed for a long time Arnav. Don’t know how I let the things get to my head and heart. You know everything about me. How spoiled I was in high school. You know how I used to waster my dad’s hard earned money, without knowing how hard he worked. When I was about put myself in danger, you were the one to rescue me dammit. I didn’t want the same to our children. Without knowing the value of money. If you sort out everything with money, how will they ever learn about their deeds. Have you thought the kind of friends they indulged in? Arush has some classmates who are into drugs. What if they lure them knowing he has money? This teenage is very fragile Arnav. I don’t know how you forgot about it when you were the one rescued me from the dark. 36 years. Bloody 36 years we have travelled so far, only to lose here.

Arnav was stupefied hearing her. He forgot to discipline their children.

Khushi- When Kiara asks for fav fast food, I say No. Do you know why? Health is a partly one reason. But other reason is they need to learn to accept NO. If all their life they are given what they are asked, they can’t accept rejection in anything else Arnav. You know that. We need to groom them into better human being. Once their character and career is set into their minds, we can take a back seats. Tons of things can go wrong in a tony moment. I am not being over protective. I just want US to teach them to be better person- to be grateful for the money we have, to treat everyone equally, to accept No, to learn that rejection and failure are part of life. There are so many things. We don’t know how their life will turn out to. But the least we can do is give them a strong sense of morality. Which I am trying to and you forgot. Somehow this has become a game where you win as a good parent and I am the bad one. Children will always think, no matter what they do, even if its murder, they will think that their dad can help? Is this what you want? We need to talk Arnav. But as you said our friendship has vanished somehow.

Arnav felt someone woke him up from comatose sleep. How wrong he had been in everything? How is that she was coping up with all taxing emotions until now?

Khushi- Also regarding your business front, I thought that you enjoy your friends’ company more than mine.

Arnav- Khushi you know that is not true.

Khushi- Also I thought that..

Arnav – thought what?

Khushi stood up from the poolside and went towards the balcony railing and looked away.

Khushi- I thought that you don’t find me beautiful nowadays. That along with friendship, love also vanished. I felt inadequate Arnav. As if not valued, not in your life and in our children lives. I couldn’t say ‘Our’ life, because as family I felt out of place. As if you guys would be happy without me in these two weeks. Somehow everything became like a game. Where I always feel like a loser. Pyaar koi khel nahin hai Arnav

Arnav harshly turned her and shouted.

ARNAV- What did you say? You thought my love vanished and I will be happy when you are gone away. Lemme show you how much my love has vanished.

He roughly carried up in his arms and went inside their bed room.

Khushi- Arnav what are you doing? We haven’t finished yet.

Arnav harshly dropped her on the bed.

Arnav- The hell you are right !!! we aren’t finished. We haven’t travelled this far only to be this far. We will sort out everything, now that we realize what we lacked upon. But now something else takes priority. I need to show someone how much I missed certain someone.

With that Arnav made wild love to Khushi till wee hours of the morning. Its been so long that two of them had passionate wild night. But Arnav made sure he was gentle even though he was aggressive.

He made sure he showed how beautiful she was even today. He made sure to apologize by making love. He loved her. He worshipped her. He devoured her. He VALUED HER.

Afterall he is hers and she is his. For eternity. They made vow to love each other in toughest times, afterall PYAAR KOI KHEL NAHIN

************ The END*****************

Feedbacks please

5 Comments

  1. Lovely OS. Aptly depicts how relationships change over time as the family grows and also that it is important for the parents to showcase themselves as one infront of kids.

    Like

  2. Beautiful OS. Very well written to portray how some things are taken for granted and how kids feel and behave with over pampered.

    Like

Leave a comment